Dabba – A frequent Flyer

Normally, you would have heard about people who are frequent flyers – a program wherein the customers are enrolled with an airline to accumulate points, which later can be redeemed for air travel or other rewards. But have you ever heard of a humble box “A Dabba” being a frequent flyer? Well, here is a story of an amazing plastic box that became a frequent flyer between India and Dubai.

On moving to Dubai, I enrolled myself for a 6-month patisserie course, which I mentioned in my previous blog posts and I also happened to mention about this to my cousin, Anand, who is based in Bangalore, India. After my sessions at my patisserie school, I used to share some pictures of the baked delicacies with him. Every single time that I would share the pictures; he would be drooling and always asked me to send something to Bangalore and unfortunately, both of us had no travel plans and he had to just fill his stomach by seeing the pictures.

Suddenly, one day I got a call from him shouting “Nishu Kutty! my friend Varun is coming to Dubai and you know what to do.” We called Varun and invited him to our place for dinner and I decided to make some raspberry brownies. We had one piece each for dessert and also I packed a large box of brownies for my cousin Anand. Little did Varun realize it, but he had just become our Dabbawala (Delivery boy) 🙂

After seeing Varun devouring the brownie, my husband and I made a bet that all Anand was going to get was an empty box. However, a few days later my cousin called me up on Skype and all I could see was an empty box of brownies and three people with some crumbs on their lips. It was so yummy that they had finished off all the brownies in just 20 minutes. Varun decided to get the empty box back so that I could just send some more baked delicacies and this time I made some Chocolate chip cookies.

In the last few months this dabba has done more trips between India and Dubai than I have done since the time I moved here. Now, I am waiting for the Dabba to return and send more goodies for my cousin. We hope that this dabba gets a “frequent flyer platinum membership” so that we can redeem these points for our next trip to India 🙂

Here is the recipe to the humble chocolate chip cookies and make these for your cousins – your first friends in your life!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Prep time

40 mins

Cook time

12-15 mins

Easy and simple
Course: Dessert
Makes 15-20 small cookies

 Ingredients

  • Softened butter – 60gms
  • Castor Sugar – 60 gms
  • Egg (beaten) – ½ pc (25 gms)
  • Vanilla essence – 1tsp
  • All purpose flour – 81 gms
  • Cocoa powder – 9gms
  • Dark chocolate chips – 90 gms

Method

  1. Cream butter & sugar until pale & fluffy
  2. Beat in egg and vanilla essence
  3. Sift flour and cocoa powder over the mixture and fold in the chips
  4. Drop tablespoons full of the mixture on a greased baking sheet
  5. Rest in the chiller for 30 mins
  6. Bake at 160°C in a preheated oven for 10-12 minutes.
  7. Cool on the tray for 5 mins before moving to the wire rack.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. flavours2017 says:

    ha ha liked it —dabbawala —-

    Like

  2. Shweta says:

    What an excellent way to express…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

